No One Ever Asked by Katie Ganshert

**This post contains affiliate links for your convenience.**

Title: No One Ever Asked

Author: Katie Ganshert

Published By: WaterBrook (2018)

Synopsis:

Challenging perceptions of discrimination and prejudice, this emotionally resonant drama for readers of Lisa Wingate and Jodi Picoult explores three different women navigating challenges in a changing school district–and in their lives.

When an impoverished school district loses its accreditation and the affluent community of Crystal Ridge has no choice but to open their school doors, the lives of three very different women converge: Camille Gray–the wife of an executive, mother of three, long-standing PTA chairwoman and champion fundraiser–faced with a shocking discovery that threatens to tear her picture-perfect world apart at the seams. Jen Covington, the career nurse whose long, painful journey to motherhood finally resulted in adoption but she is struggling with a happily-ever-after so much harder than she anticipated. Twenty-two-year-old Anaya Jones–the first woman in her family to graduate college and a brand new teacher at Crystal Ridge’s top elementary school, unprepared for the powder-keg situation she’s stepped into. Tensions rise within and without, culminating in an unforeseen event that impacts them all. This story explores the implicit biases impacting American society, and asks the ultimate question: What does it mean to be human? Why are we so quick to put labels on each other and categorize people as “this” or “that”, when such complexity exists in each person? (Taken from Goodreads)

Review:

Oh my goodness! It’s been a long time since I read a book this powerful and thought-provoking.

First of all, I loved the creativity of the story—how the author based it on real—but unfamiliar—events, and then took it and made it her own. I loved the characters and how real they were; Ganshert does such a magnificent job perfectly encompassing a realisitic mindset for characters in their positions and so many times I found myself relating to a character even though I have never been in any of their situations. 

There were many characters, and sometimes it was hard to keep track of all of them and who belonged to which story, but the important characters were distinct and easy to remember. They were so many different personalites and so much going on. It was definitely a book I had to read slowly, to make sure I caught everything, but it was soooooo worth it.

It covered some mature topics, but in a gentle and beautiful way. Each character was delicately woven, real and tangible, and distinct in their own unique ways, and through these characters we clearly see the heart behind each differing opinion in the story, making us stop and really consider everything being presented. I was blown away by the author’s ability to show so many differing mindsets and not condemn any one of them but instead offer evidence and leave it up to the reader to make the connection of what is right.

Negative Content/Notes:

I don’t recall any negative content. Some minor violence occurs toward the end, but nothing is glorified or presented in the wrong way. 

Rating: 5.0 / 5.0

Recommended to: Ages 14+

 

No Comments

Post a Comment

%d bloggers like this: