The Whatever After Series by Sarah Mlynowski

** This post contains affiliate links for your convenience.**

Title: Whatever After Series

Author: Sarah Mlynowski

Published By: Scholastic (2012)


Abby and Jonah thought their life was normal. Then they move to Smithville. And discover they have a magic mirror in their basement. A magic mirror that transports them into fairy tales! At first, they’re excited. Until they accidentally start messing up the fairy tales. And they don’t know how to get home. Will the characters—and Abby and Jonah—get a happy ending?





There is only one way to describe Sarah Mlynowksi’s Whatever After series and that is: Hilarious!

I found this series, which is now going on its 11th book, hilarious and lovable. Abby’s voice as a ten-year-old is convincing and extremely realistic. While the writing may not have been the best, the voice sold it for me. Abby sounds exactly like your average ten-year-old, which, in my opinion, makes it even better and even funnier.

The situations they find themselves in, the things they do to mess up fairy tales (accidentally, of course), made me laugh and laugh. I love rewritten fairy tales and so far this is the best series I’ve encountered! I mean, seriously: They go into Snow White and stop her from eating the apple. Cinderella breaks her foot so the slipper won’t fit. Rapunzel’s long hair gets cut off so the prince can’t climb up. Ooops!

Negative Content/Notes:



Hilarious! If you’re looking for a quick, fun, great read, Whatever After is for you. While definitely designed for younger readers, I still enjoyed them at 16. They’re just good books!

Rating: 4.5 / 5.0

Recommended to: Ages 8 and up!

Leave a Reply